2005 Cyberman: Time to Paint

Me at a job interview, a true story:

Interviewer: So what are some of your interests and hobbies.

Me: Uh…. (thinking of the cyberman body parts staked in my backyard like I’m some sort of witch doctor) … I like to read.

plasti dip

Plasti-dip is a rubber coating product that you can buy at most home improvement stores and Walmart.  Mostly it comes in spray paint form, but if you really look you can find it in a can.  I choose to buy the can, and brush on the plasti-dip. I did this to try to get a nice thick and even coat.   It took about 3 coats, and all in all I think I went through about 5 cans of this stuff.

plasti-dip

The advantage of Plasti-dip over other forms of sealing foam, such as modgepodge or wood glue, is that it maintains flexibility when dry.  As you have to wait between the coats, it took me about a week to plast-dip the entire suit.

spray paintingOn a less windy day (it is never not windy here) I started spray painting the suit. Different cyberman builders will tell you different things, but I used Rust-oleum Metallic Satin Nickel.  While it is a little too sparkly in the light, I did like the smooth nickel look of the paint, rather than a shiny silver. spray paintingIt took me about 3 coats of paint, and about 4 cans, to finish the entire suit.  I didn’t mind when it wasn’t 100% covered and some of the black shown through, I thought it gave it a good aged look.

I don’t have a picture, but when I was totally done painting, I went in with a black acrylic wash, and added some light color to the seams, just to give it a more aged look.

Leave a Reply

