I’m in Doctor Who Magazine!

DWM488_COVER-234x300

About a month ago a tweet went out from BBC asking for cosplayers to send in pictures and tell of their experiences cosplaying Doctor Who.  So I typed up a few paragraphs and sent in six different photos.   I didn’t hear anything and then…

11666090_10153412890737154_1494149455935649317_n

There I am in the lower left corner.  The magazine isn’t released here in the US yet, so all I have is this scan someone posted on Facebook.

Here is a copy of the email I sent the BBC:


Your kids naturally pull away from you as they become teenagers, so when my daughter suggested that we should make some cosplay and go to our local comic convention together, I thought it was a great opportunity for us to spend time together.

It was after watching Kill the Moon that I got the idea of making the Doctors orange space suit.  There are so few cosplay characters for women over forty, but I thought that if I ever went traveling with the Doctor, I’d like him to invite me to walk the moon with him in one of his space suits.

I had never made anything like this before and there were no patterns or tutorials online to follow, so I just made it up as I went.  I built a helmet out of foam mats, and I reworked an old set of coveralls into the space suit.  I watched videos online and learned how to solder a basic circuit, so out of the led’s from child’s toy and wire from Christmas lights I added lights to the helmet.

The next year when Matt Smith, Karen Gillan, and Billie Piper came to our local comic convention, my daughter and I were ready with our Doctor Who cosplay.  One day we dressed as Matt Smith and Peter Capaldi, the next day I wore my orange space suit,   We had such a good time meeting other Who fans and taking pictures together with them.

Cosplaying had brought my teenage daughter and me closer together.  As long as she’s willing to do it with me, I will keep building cosplay.  I am already working on a cyberman for the next convention.


I have posted on a few cosplay and convention groups that I belong to on facebook to try to contact the family that I took the picture with. They were just a family of cosplayers I met in line while waiting to see Billie Piper at my local con.  No luck yet.

Photo credits to my oldest daughter for taking my cosplay photos, and my middle daughter for doing the editing.

Leave a Reply

