My New Ryobi Tabletop Bandsaw Sent from the Gods!

I had a conversation with my doctor a couple months ago. I’ve been having some numbness and tingling in my right thumb that flares up mostly when I’m crafting, specifically when I use scissors or a box-cutter.  At times it’s gotten bad. I’ve worked on a project and my thumb has tingled for days afterwards.  So in addition to wearing a wrist brace when I craft,  my doctor also told me to cut back on those activities.  “How much do you really need to use a box-cutter,” my doctor joked. “You have no idea,” I replied.

April 2015 001Enter the Ryobi tabletop bandsaw.  My husband found it in the classifieds and bought it from these people who were moving for $50.00; it was nearly new.  I can not tell you how amazing it is and how it has improved my foam crafting.

April 2015 006

Now my edges are always straight and clean.  If I need two of the same piece I can cut them at the same time.

April 2015 007

The bed tilts up to 45% so I can have exact angle cuts,

April 2015 010

I don’t know how I ever could have managed all the angle cuts in this suit without the bandsaw. It would have been a messy nightmare. And look at how clean the seams are. I would never been able to manage that if I had been hand cutting. I’m just not skilled enough with a razor blade.  Speaking of blades, I’m don’t have to worry with each cut if my blades gone dull. I don’t have to worry about dull blades pulling and ripping the foam.

April 2015 005

It’s quiet enough that I have it in my downstairs workshop and I don’t worry about disturbing the whole house with it. The best thing is that at the end of an hour my wrist doesn’t hurt as much and my thumb isn’t totally numb.

Leave a Reply

