Sanctuary Base 6 Space Suit: Respirator

resperatorOkay, so I’ve tried to be really true to the costume up until this point.  Here is where I took a little artistic license.

Our water softener went out a few months ago, and my husband, being the handy guy that he is, replaced it. As he was tossing out the old softener I spotted some pieces on it that I thought I might be able to use for this build.

Jauary 2015 001I pulled this thing apart to see what we had and discovered this excellent casing.

Jauary 2015 002Do you see the potential here?

Jauary 2015 003So I cleaned it up and added some foam accents and some googly eyes. Then I sanded it so it would take paint.

Jauary 2015 011It took 4 cotes of black gloss spray paint. Then I added some more gunmetal highlights to give it that worn look.  When It was all finished the paint still chipped easily, so I added a coat of Mod Podge. Oh, and I glued on a hose just for effect.

Jauary 2015 013  My husband was kind enough to drill into the PVC and screw in the strap.  The respirator was ready to go!

Leave a Reply

