Doctor Who Sanctuary Base 6 Space Suit: Helmet Part 1

I love a good challenge when it comes to crafting costumes, and after seeing Kill the Moon I knew I wanted to make one of those orange space suits.

Capture

For this project so far I’ve used:

  • 1 1960’s motorcycle helmet (the old style helmets are a lot smaller than current day helmets)
  • 1/2 inch EVA foam pads from Harbor Freight  $10.00
  • Aluminum foil
  • Heat Gun which I also bought at Harbor Freight for around $14.00
  • Duct Tape
  • Sharpie
  • Box Cutter
  • Total cost to this point: $24.00

This is my first time making an EVA helmet so I’ve relied heavily on this great YouTube tutorial by Ted Smith.

November 2014 082

I covered the helmet in aluminum foil

November 2014 083

Then using short 4 or 5 inch strips, I covered the helmet with duct tape.

November 2014 084

I drew pattern marks, labeling F for front and B for back, R for right, L for left.  Don’t forget the hash marks!

November 2014 085

I cut out the pattern and then chose the side I liked the best.  This ensures that both sides will be identical. Make sure to cut out the hash marks

November 2014 087

I pined the patterns to the foam, drawing in all the hash marks and marking front back, left.  Then I flipped them over and drew them again, this time marking right.

November 2014 088

After cutting the pieces out with a box cutter (fresh, sharp blade is required and make sure you are cutting at 90 degrees), I heated them and gave them each a curve. Watch the youtube video I reference above for more info on this step.

November 2014 089

Then very slowly, and carefully I hot-glued the pieces together. I’d only glue an inch at a time and then hold.

November 2014 090

And there you have it. The base of my space helmet.

2 comments on “Doctor Who Sanctuary Base 6 Space Suit: Helmet Part 1

    • Sorry, I didn’t save the pattern. It never occurred to me that anyone would want it. I think the key is to find a helmet to make a pattern from that is the size you want your finished project to be and make a pattern from it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

